Monday, September 19, 2016


New Issue alert:
[press release added later]

Municipality of Lal-lo, Cagayan

Kind of Issue: Commemorative
Denomination and Quantity: Stamps: Php 15.00 / 101,000pcs
                                                       OFDCE: Php8.00 / 2,400pcs
Date of Issue: August 13, 2016
Size of Stamp: 40mm x 30mm
Sheet Composition: 40on
Perforation: 14 holes per 20mm
Printing process: offset lithography, four colors
Paper: security or substrate paper, guaranteed exclusively milled security paper
Printer: Amstar Company, Inc.
Graphic Designer: Rodine C. Teodoro

PRESS RELEASE: PHLPost issues stamp to mark Municipality of Lal-lo 435th anniversary

The Municipality of Lal-lo, province of Cagayan celebrated their patronal town fiesta with the release of PHLPost commemorative stamps highlighting the 435th foundation of the municipality.
The stamp features the historic Santo Domingo de Guzman Church which was established by the Dominicans in 1581, named Nueva Segovia. The town was the seat of the capital of Cagayan up to 1839 when the provincial government was moved to Tuguegarao.

Lal-lo was the hub of religious, trade and commercial activities of Northern Luzon. It is also one of the first four cities in the Philippines (others were Manila, 1571; Cebu, 1565; Naga, 1575).
The Sto. Domingo de Guzman Church is a massive Spanish colonial church built in solid red bricks. Across the picturesque church, and along the mighty Cagayan River is the Evangelization Cross, a wooden crucifix implanted at this site hundreds of years ago by Dominican priests.
PHLPost has printed 101,000 pieces of the municipality’s “435th Patronal Town Fiesta” commemorative stamp sold at P15.00 each.
The stamps and official first day cover are now available at the Post Shop, Central Post Office, Door 203, Liwasang Bonifacio, Manila and area post offices nationwide. For inquiries, please call 527-01-08 or 527-01-32.

No comments:

Post a Comment