Friday, September 25, 2015

Manila Observatory

New Issue alert:

Manila Observatory: 150 Years

PRESS RELEASE: PHLPost releases Manila Observatory 150th anniversary commemorative stamps
The Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) released a new commemorative stamp featuring the 150th founding anniversary of the Manila Observatory, the oldest institution of scientific research in the Philippines, established in 1865 by the Jesuit mission in the Philippines.
“The Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) congratulate the Manila Observatory on the occasion of its 150th founding anniversary with the issuance of commemorative stamps celebrating the rich tradition of excellence in areas of scientific research and service”, Postmaster General Josie Dela Cruz said.
The stamp features the iconic Manila Observatory building, the official anniversary seal and Fr. Federico Faura, SJ, founder.
According to its website, the Manila Observatory was founded by no less than Father Federico Faura, fondly called Padre Faura (after whom the street was named), who set up its first headquarters in Manila. It was engaged in the systematic observation of Philippine weather. The observatory began serving typhoon warnings in 1879.
The institution embarked on earthquake observations in 1880. In 1884, the Spanish government issued a royal decree formally recognizing the Manila Observatory as the official Philippine institution for weather forecasting.
In 1963, the Manila Observatory was transferred to Loyola Heights campus of the Ateneo de Manila University, where it continued its seismic, geomagnetic, and radio physics research, while expanding into solar physics as well.
Some 101,000 copies of the commemorative stamp were printed by Amstar Company, Inc. and being sold at P15.00 each.
The stamps and official first day cover are now available at the Post Shop, Central Post Office, Door 203, Liwasang Bonifacio, Manila and area post offices nationwide. For inquiries, please call 527-01-08 or 527-01-32.

No comments:

Post a Comment